Skip to main content Skip to footer

2020–2021 Lyons and Newlan Scholarship Winners Announced

Back To News
July 8, 2020
By RCI-IIBEC Foundations Development Officer Rick Gardner

The RCI-IIBEC Foundation is excited to announce the 2020–2021 recipients of the Robert W. Lyons and RCI Lewis W. Newlan scholarships. The Lyons scholarship is for $5,000 and is specifically for undergraduate education expenses for students studying construction sciences, architecture, or engineering. The RCI Newlan scholarship is for $2,500 and is open to both undergraduate and graduate students—again for studies in construction sciences, architecture, or engineering. Scholarship winners are selected based on financial need, letters of recommendation, and the student’s request for consideration.

Robert W. Lyons Scholarship recipients

  • Nabila Essakalli of Blacksburg, VA, is a fifth-year student in architecture at Virginia Tech. Essakalli’s interests lie in sustainable architecture. She is currently a member of the National Organization of Minority Architecture Students and serves on the Student Affairs Community Advisory Board.
  • Bethany Jackson-Price of League City, TX, is a senior at the University of Houston studying construction management. Her ideal career is to be able to contribute and educate communities on the value of sustainability and construction. Jackson-Price’s interests in construction management include energy issues, global warming, conservation, management of resources, and sustainable practices.
  • Kristin Lorentzen of Pomona, CA, is a senior studying architecture at California Polytechnic University in Pomona. She is also pursuing a minor in regenerative studies. Lorentzen is currently volunteering as the environmental design ambassador for the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS).
  • Juan Mancilla Vargas of Battle Creek, IA, is a senior in construction engineering at Iowa State University. He is currently interning with DPR Construction, and during his free time likes to read, meditate, and play soccer with his friends.
Nabila Essakalli
Bethany Jackson-Price
Kristin Lorentzen
Juan Mancilla Vargas

RCI Lewis W. Newlan recipients

  • Mackenzie Anderson of Houston, TX, is a graduate student in the Taubman School of Architecture and Urban Planning at the University of Michigan. She is currently serving as an intern at PGAL in Houston. Her interests are in green building construction and net-zero achievements.
  • Julia Gravano of Lake Grove, NY, is a junior at Wentworth Institute of Technology studying construction management. She was recently elected president of the Construction Management Club. Gravano loves to travel, SCUBA dive, and go to the beach during her free time.
  • Tyler Kleinsasser of Rapid City, SD, is a graduate student at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology studying construction, engineering, and management. Kleinsasser is a student member of IIBEC and attended the 2019 IIBEC Convention and Trade Show in Orlando, FL. In his free time, he enjoys being outdoors, exercising, solving Rubik’s Cubes, and playing the piano.
  • Daniel Lemmon of Toston, MT, is an undergraduate studying architecture at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco, CA. His interests include log and timber home construction, model ship building, hunting, fishing, and equestrian sports.
Mackenzie Anderson
Julia Gravano
Tyler Kleinsasser
Daniel Lemmon

Thanks to all the Foundation donors who made these scholarships possible. Donations are being accepted to both scholarship funds. For more information, visit the Foundation’s website at or contact Foundations Development Officer Rick Gardner at 919-859-0742 or