2020 IIBEC Fellows Announced

Back To News
June 18, 2020

At the IIBEC 2020 Welcome Ceremony, held June 12, 2020 via a virtual convention platform, President Scott Hinesley announced the new inductees into the Jury of Fellows for 2020.

Wielding a pair of drumsticks, Hinesley did a drumroll on his desk, and announced with a flourish:

They are Bas Baskaran, Walt Rossiter, and Bob Card.

Appupillai “Bas” Baskaran is a group leader researching the wind effects on building enclosures through experiments and computer modeling. As an adjunct professor at the University of Ottawa, he also supervises grad students. As a professional engineer, he is a member of RICOWI, IIBEC, ASCE, SPRI, ICBEST, and CIB technical committees. He is a research advisor to various task groups of the National Building Code of Canada and a member of ASCE’s Wind Load Committee. He has authored over 300 research articles and received over 25 awards, including the Canadian Roofing Contractors Association’s Frank Lander Award and ASTM’s Carl Cash Award. Baskaran was recognized by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II with a Diamond Jubilee medal for his contribution to fellow Canadians. He has been a member of IIBEC for 15 years, and contributed countless numbers of Interface articles and building enclosure symposia and convention presentations.

IIBEC’s Director of Technical Services Dr. Walter J. Rossiter has been with IIBEC since 1994. In addition to being on staff, he is an honorary member. He has been on the RCI-IIBEC Foundation board of directors for well over a decade. He has also served as staff liaison to the Advocacy Committee, and to the Building Enclosure Symposium Committee. He is currently the staff liaison to the Technical Advisory Committee, helping craft the Technical Advisories that are shared on IIBEC’s website for the benefit of the industry. In 2008, Rossiter received the William C. Cullen Award from ASTM International Committee D08 on Roofing and Waterproofing. In addition to working on several D08 subcommittees, he chairs Subcommittee D08.92.  He also serves on Committees C16 on Thermal Insulation and E06 on Performance of Buildings. Rossiter was honored with the ASTM Award of Merit and accompanying title of Fellow in 1994 and the Walter C. Voss Award in 2002. Rossiter has a BS in chemistry from Boston College and a PhD in organic chemistry from the University of California, Santa Barbara. He spent more than 35 years as a research chemist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). He is also a member of the American Chemical Society; the International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction (CIB); and the International Union of Laboratories and Experts in Construction Materials, Systems, and Structures (RILEM). He is a past chair of the joint CIB/RILEM Committee on Roofing Materials and Systems.

Immediate Past President Robert Card is an 18-year member of IIBEC. In addition to his duties on the Executive Committee and Convention Committee over the past four years, he is also currently on the Building Enclosure Symposium Committee. Card is a principal of Wetherholt and Associates, Inc., Kirkland, WA. He has been a consultant with the company since 2001 and a principal since 2005. Active in the industry since 1989, he has worked for two other consulting firms and a roofing materials manufacturer in a variety of roles, including preparing specifications, drawings, and evaluation reports from surveys and investigations; generating leads and proposals for prospective projects and inquiries for consulting work; conducting building envelope investigation surveys; performing moisture scans; and providing management for his company. He also provides legal and expert witness testimony and performs quality assurance reviews on technical reports and specifications written by other Wetherholt and Associates consultants. Card holds RBEC and REWO designations. He has been a regular presenter for IIBEC educational courses around the country since 2004, and also presents for other industry organizations.

Hinesley went on to note that all three have made tremendous contributions to both the building enclosure industry in general, as well as IIBEC specifically.